

April 23, 2019

The Honorable José Serrano Chairman Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science Science, & Related Agencies House Committee on Appropriations 2354 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur Chairwoman Subcommittee on Energy & Water Development House Committee on Appropriations 2186 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Robert Aderholt Ranking Member Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science Science, & Related Agencies House Committee on Appropriations 1203 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mike Simpson Ranking Member Subcommittee on Energy & Water Development House Committee on Appropriations 2084 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Serrano, Chairwoman Kaptur, Ranking Member Aderholt, and Ranking Member Simpson,

On behalf of the scientific societies, companies and universities listed below, we request full support for the National Quantum Initiative (NQI) Act in the Fiscal Year 2020 appropriations bills. The NQI Act was approved with overwhelming bipartisan support and signed into law by President Trump in December 2018. This legislation establishes a coordination framework for government agencies to expand research and development of quantum information science (QIS), which is critical to both our economic and national security.

Quantum research holds tremendous promise for infrastructure management, cybersecurity, medical research and treatment, advanced communications, financial services, and transportation. Providing funding for this important research will maintain our country's role as a global leader in the field and at the same time help bridge significant workforce gaps between leading quantum researchers and industrial product developers. Moving quantum research from the laboratory to the marketplace remains both a challenge and an opportunity.

To fulfill the NQI Act's authorized levels, we are requesting \$80 million for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), \$50 million for the National Science Foundation (NSF) for the establishment of five National Quantum Initiative Centers (\$10 million per center) and \$85 million for enabling principal investigator-led quantum research, and \$100 million for the Department of Energy (DOE) for the establishment of five National Quantum Initiative Centers (\$20 million per center) and \$120 million for enabling principal investigator-led quantum research.

NSF, NIST, and DOE are well positioned to expand their research efforts in QIS. The National Quantum Initiative Centers will conduct basic and applied research in QIS, and with the right support, will be able to accelerate scientific breakthroughs and train the workforce needed to capitalize on these scientific



breakthroughs. The significant federal investments will help engineer, industrialize, and automate quantum technology, including quantum computers, communications/networking systems, and sensors. This support will lay the groundwork for the development of conventional technology and intellectual property needed to bring quantum technology to full fruition.

As other countries make significant investments in quantum (\$10 billion in China and \$1.3 billion in the European Union), it is critical that the U.S. keep pace. We appreciate your commitment to advancing this important research and technology and look forward to working with you on these requests.

Sincerely,

Atom Computing Carnegie Mellon University Center for Quantum Information and Control (CQuIC), University of New Mexico **Duke University** Edward White, Chair, National Photonics Initiative Steering Committee Google Harris Corporation Honeywell IBM **Intel Corporation** lonQ, Inc. Microsoft Northrop Grumman Corporation OSA Pittsburgh Quantum Institute Quantum Circuits Inc. **Rochester Institute of Technology** SPIE The State University of New York SUNY Polytechnic Institute **TOPTICA Photonics** University of Arizona University of Chicago University of Colorado University of Maryland University of Oregon University of Rochester University of Southern California University of Wisconsin-Madison

CC: Chairwoman Nita Lowey, House Appropriations Committee Ranking Member Kay Granger, House Appropriations Committee